home news shop faq discography mp3s podcasts photos

interviews louis's top 101 message board newsletter links contact


Sunshine (1994/5) - Humbug BAH23/Polystar PSCR-5338 (Trattoria menu 49)
sunshine cover image

Track list: (*Japanese release only)
Sunshine/Delta Kiss/Rafaella/Martine/Only A Fool/Tokyo Waltz/Roll Back The Years/The One You Love/L'Hiver Te Va Bien/Our Boat Can Wait/Ripples On The River/Lazy English Sun/Montparnasse/Heaven(*)/Bus#13(*)/Ainsi Va Sa Vie/Rue Mouffetard(*)/Carioca/(It's Been A) Long, Long Summer

Buy this album


28 days of frantic activity at Chiswick Reach Studios resulted in over 30 tracks recorded by Louis and producer Bertrand Burgalat - with more than a little help from arranger Daniel Manners. 16 of these songs found their way onto this UK release, as well as on its French equivalent (WMD/Wotre Music 122105-WM327). 3 extra songs were added to the Japan-only Trattoria CD (marked * in the above track list). Sunshine was available for just a few months in most European countries, due to the financial difficulties, demise and subsequent re-birth of Humbug. Carioca (originally written for Anthony Adverse back in 1989!) was actually recorded during a different session supervised by Ken Brake at Momentum Studios and was originally featured on the Exotica compilation Bend It! 93 (Pele 5 cd). L'Hiver Te Va Bien was chosen as the accompanying single in France. Lazy English Sun is a thorough re-working of the Jean Renoir song - actually much closer to the original demo recording. Bus #13 had been originally recorded (slaughtered, actually) back in 1987 for what was not yet the Ivory Tower album, wheras Rue Mouffetard was another of the tunes Louis had written for an aborted instrumental album back in the days of él.

Featured Musicians: Louis Philippe (vocals, guitarissimo, piano, keyboards, tubular bells, tambourine); Bertrand Burgalat (bass, drums, mini moog, ondes burgalot, elka capri transitor organ, davolisynth, guitare hawaïenne, aquaguitar); Daniel Manner (double bass); Hussein Badreldin (drums); Steve Noble (drums, percussion); Mahmoudi Kamara (percussion); Chris Batchelor (trumpet & flugelhorn); Eleanor d'Ascoli (gorgeous piano); Anthony Adverse (backing vocals); Fred Allen (whistling); The Covent Garden String Orchestra, principals: Abigail Trundle - leader (cello); Sarah-Jo Izzett, Geraldine Berreen, Tracey Colvin (violins); Teresa Whipple (viola)

Production: Produced by Betrand Burgalat; Recorded and mixed at Chiswick Reach Studios, London; Engineered by Vic Keary and Nick Terry; Digital conversion and mastering by Denis at Porky's, London; Executive Producer, Kenichi Makimura; Pre-production by Ken V Brake at Fag Studios, Regent's Park, London; Artwork by Louis and Jacques LeLoup of Exotica.

This album was also released along with Delta Kiss as 2 album CD - Cherry Red Records, CDMRED 162

Listen to/download Rafaella from this album

Lyrics for this album

Buy this album


Top of page
© 2001-2012, Philippe Auclair
Site design: scp, london - affordable web design